A physician and an educator secured spots on the Nov. 8 general election ballot for the Murray Board of Education after a Tuesday primary election where fewer than 600 votes were cast.

R. Kim Davis and Sherry Madsen emerged victorious from Tuesday's balloting in Precinct 5, eliminating the third candidate, Myrna C. Broschinsky, an elementary school teacher in the Jordan School District.Precinct 5 covers southeastern Murray and includes seven voting districts. The seat on the board is currently held by Chairman George I. Brown, who has served three terms.

Davis, a University of Utah associate professor of head and neck surgery, finished first, gaining 248 votes or 43 percent.

Madsen, the Newpaper in Education coordinator at the Deseret News and a former teacher, received 190 votes or 33 percent.

Third-place finisher Broschinsky had a total of 133 votes or 23 percent.

All three had opposed the tax-limitation measures, saying they will hurt public education.

Both Davis and Madsen have pointed to funding as the biggest problem facing the county's smallest school district.

There was no primary in Precinct 1, which covers northwestern Murray, because Margaret Nelson, a former teacher and Murray PTA region director and council president, is running unopposed. J. Dale Ahlberg, who is not seeking re-election, has held that seat for four terms.