Adrien F. Taylor, co-publisher of the Moab Times-Independent, has been elected president of the Utah Press Association for 1988.

Taylor, who edits and publishes the 3,500 circulation weekly with her husband, Sam, is also heavily involved in community programs. She is a member of the Utah Board of Services to the Handicapped, the Utah Girl Scout Council board and the state Republican Central and Executive Committees.

She was named the 1987 Outstanding Republican Woman by the Utah Federation of Republican Women. She also received the Volunteer Service Award from the Mental Retardation Association of Utah in 1984. She was named the Moab Business and Professional Women's Woman of the Year in 1986.

Taylor was elected president during the association's recent winter convention in St. George. Others elected were Brett Bezzant, publisher of the American Fork Citizen, vice president; Ken Adams, publisher of the Morgan County News, secretary; and Bonnie G. Miller, publisher of the Intermountain Commercial Record, treasurer.