Norman L. Jones and Reed P. Warren have been named recipients of the D. Wynne Thorne Research Awards, to be presented at Utah State University commencement June 8.

Jones, a professor of history at USU, is recognized as an important scholar in British history. His research and books have established him as a leading scholar in English Parliamentary history and the Elizabethan political scene.Warren has distinguished himself as a leader among his peers in many fields, particularly in his research focusing on the human immune system, bone marrow transplantation and immune abnormalities.

His early work on the immune system and bone-marrow transplants prompted development of regimens to prevent transplant rejection.