The nominees for the 18th annual Roberto Clemente Award presented to the player who best represents baseball through humanitarian charitable endeavors, were announced this week.

A panel of 11 baseball executives and media representatives will select the winner , who will be announced at the All-Star Game July 12 in Cincinnati. Rick Sutcliffe of the Chicago Cubs won the award last year and like previous winners Don Baylor of Oakland and Ron Guidry of the New York Yankees, is no longer eligible.The award ordinarily goes to an individual but this year's list of candidates includes the Minnesota Twins organization, which raised nearly $2 million for charities in 1987.

Other nominees were Bob Brenly of San Francisco, George Brett of Kansas City, Wade Boggs of Boston, Tim Burke of Montreal, Don Carman of Philadelphia, Gary Carter of the New York Mets, Glenn Davis of Houston, Mike Diaz of Pittsburgh, Leon Durham of Cincinnati, Orel Hershiser of Los Angeles, Don Mattingly of the New York Yankees, Kirk McCaskill of California.

Also, Dale Murphy of Atlanta, Pete O'Brien of Texas, Dan Plesic of MIlwaukee, Harold Reynolds of Seattle, Scott Sanderson of the Chicago Cubs, Eris Show of San Diego, Ozzie Smith of St. Louis, Dave Steward of Oakland, Pat Tabler of Cleveland, Frank Tanana of Detroit, Greg Walker of the Chicago White Sox and Ernie Whitt of Toronto.