Davis County didn't fare as well as some other political entities in the most recent session of the State Legislature and the county's mayors and commissioners plan to avoid that in the future.

The Davis Council of Governments on Wednesday organized a political action committee of legislators, mayors, and other political leaders to help push the county's agenda in the next session.The committee is modeled on the one Weber County organized for this past session. The group met at the state capitol daily, evaluating legislation that affected the county and holding strategy sessions.

Mayors named to the committee include Carl Johnson, West Bountiful; Rex Bouchard, South Weber; and Robert Linnell, Bountiful. Commissioner Gerald Purdy will serve, with school board member Lynn Summerhays representing education.

Legislators on the committee will include Sen. Haven Barlow, R-Layton, and representatives Nancy Lyon, R-Bountiful, and Joe Hull, D-Hooper.