Jeff Ohlweiler of Brigham Young finished no lower than third place in the final five events and narrowly overtook teammate Kelly Murdock to win the decathlon Thursday at the Western Athletic Conference track and field championships.

Ohlweiler scored 6,833 points, edging Murdock by seven points. Murdock took the lead after Wednesday's events with 3,770 points. Ohlweiler had 3,507 after the first five events.Brigham Young was a double winner as Laura Zaugg won the heptathlon. She won two of the three events Thursday and finished with 5,341 points. Marla Runyan of host San Diego State was second with 5,169.

Ohlweiler's consistency paid off on Thursday. He was second in the discus with a throw of 121 feet, 10 inches, and in the javelin at 183-1. He had the third-best time in the 100-meter high hurdles, 16.64 seconds, finishing second in his heat.

Ohlweiler was third in both the pole vault, at 13-51/4, and the 1,500 meters in 4 minutes, 31.08 seconds.

Murdock ran the fastest time in the 110 high hurdles, 15.39, and also won the 1,500 in 4:30.72. But he was fourth in the pole vault (12-11/2), fifth in the discus (103-9) and sixth in the javelin (140-9).

Rounding out the field were: Matt Inskeep, San Diego State, 6,633 points; Brent Schlinke, Texas-El Paso, 6,210; Kelly Jenson, BYU, 6,019; Steve Bulpitt, BYU, 5,856; Bill McCormick, Colorado State, 5,561; Scott Steffan, New Mexico, 4,830; and Derek Fritts, San Diego State, 4,217.

In the heptathlon, Zaugg won the long jump at 18-10 and the javelin at 104-9. Runyan won the 800 meters in 2:15.47 while Zaugg was second in 2:17.39.

Diane Schneider of Colorado State was third with 4,138 points. Rounding out the field were three San Diego State heptathletes: Tanya Buchanan, 3,908; Lori Smith, 3,415; and Shannon Proffer, 2,389.

The track and field events will be contested Friday and Saturday. BYU is the defending men's champion.

This will be the first WAC championship for the women's teams, which joined the conference this year.

The men's 100-meters will feature two of the country's top sprinters, BYU's Frank Fredricks and UTEP's Olapade Adeniken. Adeniken, a 1988 Olympian, has the best time in the conference this year, 10.14 seconds. Fredricks has run 10.17 this year.

And in Bozeman, Mont., Troy Shippen of Idaho State and Jackie Ross of Idaho won the decathlon and heptathlon titles at the Big Sky Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Bozeman Thursday.

The meet continues through Saturday.

Shippen won the decathlon with 7,019 points, besting second-place Jim Stone of Weber State by 296 points. Chad Ficek of Montana State was third at 6,584.