Arlene Arnold, library/media specialist at Pleasant Grove Junior High School, has been elected vice president of the Utah Education Association, succeeding Kay Lee Schatten, a Murray District teacher who chose not to run.

David C. Dahlquist, choral music teacher at Payson High School, was Arnold's unsuccessful challenger.Seven seats on the UEA board of directors also were filled, two of them by incumbents. They are Marilyn M. Grondel, Weber District, and Karline Grief, Salt Lake District.

Thelma Whittaker ran unopposed in Piute District. Others seated on the board after defeating other candidates are Joe Shelton, Pleasant Grove Junior High; Terry D. Olsen, Smithfield Elementary; Lyle W. Gillman, Uintah High; and Bruce Warren, Salina Elementary.