A display honoring newspaper editors and publishers, who worked to build strong communities while writing and editing the news, has a new home in the Utah State Capitol.

It's the Newspaper Hall of Fame of the Utah Press Association (UPA), which was founded in 1893 when Utah was still a territory.Featuring drawings and biographical sketches of the journalists (they must have been dead 10 years to be nominated for the honor), the 6-foot by 13-foot display has been relocated in a newly remodeled area of the Capitol and will be rededicated by former Gov. Calvin L. Rampton during a 2 p.m. ceremony Thursday, May 16.

Rampton first dedicated the display in 1975 when it was in another area in the statehouse.

State legislators and government officials have been invited. A reception will follow the ceremony in the Capitol rotunda.

Plaques and biographical profiles will highlight the lives of such publishers as the association's first president, Edwin A. Littlefield, of the Ogden Standard, and Dr. Willard Richards, Utah's first journalist and publisher beginning in 1850 of the Deseret News, the Mountain West's first newspaper.

It was Littlefield, known as "Major," who seemed to enjoy fighting battles in print. He is credited with saying, "The indolence of good men and the treachery of bad men are equally dangerous; and unless both are finally overcome by the awakened intelligence and virtue of the people, we cannot expect good government."

Richards, a cousin of LDS Church President Brigham Young, a missionary in England and editor of the "Times and Seasons" in Nauvoo, Ill., embarked on newspapering in Utah territory under difficult circumstances.

Salt Lake City was hundreds of miles to the nearest source of paper and ink - "miles covered by primitive, torturous trails that could be traveled only by pack animals or ox-drawn wagons . . . Gathering news for the publication was a problem compounded by the fact there was little communication with the outside world other than word of mouth from travelers passing through," according to historical materials.

Forty-three other editors and/or publishers are also featured in the Hall of Fame exhibit, which will be unveiled Thursday by Kenneth G. Adams, the association's immediate past president and editor and publisher of the Morgan County News.

Material on Norman Fuellenbach of the Richfield Reaper was added this year to the display.

The exhibit is a "recognition of newspaper people whose editorial guidance helped develop the communities of Utah and the state of Utah," said Jim Cornwell, chairman of the Utah Newspaper Hall of Fame, who with his wife, Bette, was publisher of the Murray Eagle.

Brent R. Sumner, the association's president and publisher of the Orem-Geneva Times, said, "The UPA is the oldest trade organization in the state. Next year the association will be in its 100th year. It's important that we preserve some of our history and heritage so people can be aware of the people who have made this state great. A lot of those people have been publishers of community (and other) newspapers throughout the years."

Orem-Geneva Times, known as the Voice of Sharon when it first began publication in 1937, assumed its pres-ent name in 1942. Sumner has been publisher about 10 years.

Many Utah newspapers have retained their original names through the years, while others have disappeared or have new names. No longer published - under these names - include the Provo Daily Enquirer, the Provo Post, the Price Sun, Mammoth Record, Lehi Banner, Millard County Blade, Springville Independent and the Mt. Pleasant Pyramid.

The Utah Press Association had its beginnings in December 1893 when 11 publishers of the area's 45 newspapers gathered in Lehi and agreed to form a trade affiliation of editors. The association was geared "toward bettering Utah journalism, protecting its interests, securing information and helping association members enjoy all-around camaraderie."

Territorial Press Association was organized in January 1894, and its first board of directors was elected, with care taken for equal representation of "city" and "country" publishers.


(Additional information)

Utah Newspaper Hall of Fame

Publications and names of Utah Newspaper Hall of Fame honorees:

Deseret News - Willard Richards, Samuel O. Bennion, Charles W. Penrose, George Q. Cannon.

Ogden Standard - Edwin A. Littlefield, Frank J. Cannon, William Glasmann.

Millard County Chronicle - Frank A. Beckwith, Frank S. Beckwith.

Beaver County News - Karl S. Carlton.

Gunnison Valley News - Howard W. Cherry.

Box Elder News - Solomon C. Wixom.

Box Elder Journal - William R. Holmes.

Box Elder News-Journal - Charles W. Claybaugh.

Ephraim Enterprise - Roscoe C. Cox.

Price Sun - Robert W. Crockett.

Mammoth Record - Isaac E. Diehl.

Tooele Transcript - James Dunn.

Logan Journal - Jesse Earl, Charles England.

Logan Herald-Journal - N. Gunnar Rasmuson.

Morgan County News - Albert W. Epperson.

Kaysville Reflex - William P. Epperson.

Salt Lake Tribune - John F. Fitzpatrick, Charles C. Goodwin.

Richfield Reaper - Rula J. Fuellenbach, Norman Fuellenbach.

Lehi Banner - Arthur F. Gaisford, James M. Kirkham.

Millard County Blade - Josiah F. Gibbs.

Pleasant Grove Review - Abraham B. Gibson.

Provo Daily Enquirer - John C. Graham.

Provo Post - Nephi C. Hicks.

Provo Daily Herald - Ernest R. Rasmuson.

Eureka Reporter - Charles E. Huish.

Springville Independent - Don C. Johnson.

Mt. Pleasant Pyramid - Burke McArthur.

Washington County News - Francis W. Mountford.

Park Record - Samuel L. "Pop" Raddon.

Iron County Record - Alex Rollo.

Davis County Clipper - John Stahle.

Moab Times-Independent - Loren L. Taylor.

Vernal Express - James H. Wallis.

Washington County News - John R. Wallis.

Nephi Times-News - Dennis Wood.