The Utah Press Women Association has announced its Communicators of the Year Awards for outstanding work by women in various communications media.

Barbara Christiansen, American Fork Citizen staff writer, won first-place awards in two categories, special articles and humor and general column writing.Lyraine Jones, Provo Daily Herald staff writer, garnered three first-place honors for an article on science, page layout and a regularly edited publication (the Herald Magazine). She also won two third-place awards for special articles and reviews.

Ann Shields, American Fork Citizen staff writer, took first place for news reporting and two second-place awards for special articles and a feature story.

Betty G. Spencer, American Fork, won seven first-place awards for her work with the Utah Pageant of the Arts, including an electronic media advertising campaign, four-color booklets, single-sheet poster, a series built around one subject, and a feature story in a publication for general or specialized use.

Sarah S. Yates, Box Elder News and Journal, won first-place awards in the categories of editorial, feature story, special articles and news reporting.

Rachel Murdock, American Fork Citizen, received a second-place award in the category of special article. Elizabeth Walker, Logan Herald Journal, won a second-place award for feature-story writing.

The awards were presented recently at the Utah Press Women's annual meeting. Also, new officers were sworn in: Sarah S. Yates, president; Barbara Christiansen, first vice president; Jean Thayne, Orem Geneva Times, second vice president; Joyce Christiansen, Salt Lake City, secretary; Rachel Murdock, treasurer.