A journalist, an attorney and a retired professor will receive honors from the University of Utah department of communications during its annual banquet Thursday, May 9.

Patrick Shea, general counsel for KUTV-Channel 2, will receive the Service to Journalism Award for his work on the freedom of information initiative with the Society of Professional Journalists.Ed Yeates, KSL-Channel 5, will be honored with the Quintus C. Wilson Alumni Achievement Award. The award is in recognition of Yeates' science reporting. He received his bachelor's and master's degrees in journalism and mass communications in 1966 and 1972 respectively. The award honors the first chair of the original journalism department.

Dr. Louise Hill Howe Mallonee, professor emerita, will receive an award for outstanding contributions to the university and community. She founded the student broadcasting club and the KSL Players, a group that performed radio drama. She is credited with shaping the original curriculum in broadcast education and was instrumental in creating early programming for KUER.

Mallonee served on the faculty from 1939 to 1963.

The banquet will be in the University Park Hotel, preceded by a reception hosted by Women in Communications Inc. More than 20 students will receive honors and scholarships and new members will be inducted into Kappa Tau Alpha, the honorary mass communications society.