The newly formed Levan Beautification Committee has big plans for sprucing up the town.

Committee chairwoman Gloria Hunter said the group will sponsor a contest to choose a town logo that reflects the lifestyle of Levan. The contest winner will have his or her name engraved or painted on a sign to be placed in the center of town, which will feature the logo and will welcome visitors to the community. Hunter said the contest will begin May 1 and all entries should be submitted to Myrt Stephensen by June 1.The committee also plans to spotlight a home of the week. Those whose homes are selected for the honor will receive gifts, and photos of the homes will be featured in the Nephi weekly newspaper.

Hunter said a youth committee, chaired by Kiley Shepherd, has also been appointed. Committee members are: Shawn Shepherd, Clete Carter, Chris Ray and Steve Jensen. A cleanup day, when residents can put trash and other unwanted items in front of their homes for collection, is also planned.

Residents are also encouraged to fix up their homes, making necessary repairs, clean up their properties and eliminate hazards. Homeowners who make special efforts will receive letters of appreciation and recognition, said Hunter.

The committee is also considering building a small park on the old courthouse property, said Hunter. Design and landscaping will be considered with the children of the community a priority. Volunteer groups are encouraged to assist with the project.

Other members of the beautification committee are: Don Hunter, Myrt Stephensen, Marilyn Mangelson, Jarie Waterfall, Lee Spring and Ralph Wilson.