Eight Utah students have been named winners of corporate scholarships granted through the National Merit Scholarship Corp.

The students and the scholarship providers are:Ryan T. Mays, Davis High School, Transamerica Foundation; Thaylen K. Leany, Kearns, Unisys; David W. Simpson, Layton, Unisys; Jason H. Lindquist, Pleasant Grove, AMR/American Airlines; David B. Larson, Clearfield, Unisys; Steven J. Limmer, Highland, Litton Industries; Thuy B. Le, West Jordan, Unisys; Stephen N. Clawson, Granger, Litton Industries.

The announcement was first in a series that will identify the country's leading scholars who received National Merit Scholarships.

QUOTE OF THE DAY: "It looks like McDonald's arch." - Dee Guess, referring to a proposed Utah centennial license plate design. (Story, B1)

Those with information for this column are invited to call JoAnn Jacobsen-Wells, Douglas D. Palmer or Chuck Gates at the Deseret News, 237-2100.