Outstanding high school seniors were honored here recently during the 20th annual Sterling Scholars of Central Utah.

During ceremonies at Juab High School, 12 winners and 24 runners-up were announced before an audience of proud parents, family members, friends, educators and civic officials.In addition to the presentation of awards in 12 categories of study, musical numbers were presented by nominees in the music category, according to Richard and Karen Chamberlain, program directors.

Last year's winner in general scholarship, Terresa Nickle from Delta High School, presented a "Tribute to Parents and Teachers."

The Central Utah program is patterned after the Deseret News-KSL Sterling Scholar Awards program along the Wasatch Front. Five such programs are sponsored annually throughout the Beehive State.

The following are winners, listed first, and runners-up, listed alphabetically:

English - Shawn Bills, Delta; Nichol Jeffrey, Wayne; and Mara Lisonbee, Millard.

Speech/drama - Jewly DeMille, North Sevier; Helen Christensen, South Sevier; and Kamala Parry, North Sanpete.

Mathematics - Daniel Corey, Delta; Martin Jensen, North Sevier; and Julie Watson, Millard.

Social science - Shawn Quarnberg, Millard; Gifford Briggs, South Sevier; and Curtis Turner, Delta.

Science - Easton Jackson, Millard; Anna Lee Beck, North Sanpete; and Melissa Mellor, Juab.

Foreign language - Alex Peterson, Manti; Jesse Jacobson, North Sanpete; and Sean Rawlinson, Delta.

Visual arts - Justin Jenkins, South Sevier; Carin Coray, Juab; and Ryan Miller, Wasatch Academy.

Industrial education - Brent Worthington, Juab; Jennifer Johnson, North Sevier; and Casey Peterson, Millard.

Home economics - Deana Freeman, Millard; Sharon Hansen, North Sanpete; and Tasha Peterson, Wayne.

Business education - Lisa Nielsen, Delta; Emily Huntsman, Manti; and Tancy Thompson, Richfield.

Music - Stacy Nielsen, Delta; April Aagard, North Sanpete; and Christena Wintch, Manti.

General scholarship - Brian Gladwell, North Sevier; Matthew Bailey, North Sanpete; and Matthew Meanea, South Sevier.