Ute junior Josh Grant was named the winner of the Jack Gardner Most Valuable Player Award for the 1990-91 University of Utah basketball team at the basketball awards banquet held Friday night at the Red Lion Hotel.

Grant led the Utes in scoring with a 17.5 per game scoring average and rebounding with a 8.0 average per game. He was the 1991 Western Athletic Conference player of the year and was a first team all-WAC choice.Grant also received the Iron Man Award for most minutes played (29.9 per game), the Free Throw Percentage Award (82.5 percent) and the Rebound Average Award (8.0). He and teammate Craig Rydalch also received the Team Captain Award.

Senior Walter Watts received the Field Goal Percentage Award hitting 51.5 percent from the floor this season. Watts was a second team all-WAC choice this season. Watts also received a special senior award. Tyrone Tate received the Assist Award for averaging 4.1 assists per game.

The Academic Award went to sophomores Byron Wilson and Larry Cain while Phil Dixon and Paul Afeaki both received the Most Improved Player Award. The Most Inspirational Player Award went to Jimmy Soto and M'Kay McGrath while Rydalch and Tate were named co-winners of the Vadal Peterson Best Defensive Player Award.

The Utes posted a 30-4 record this season and won the 1991 WAC Championship with a 15-1 mark. Utah is the only team in WAC history to win 30 regular season games and 15 conference games. The team made it to the "Sweet 16" of the NCAA Tournament.