Brigham Young University has honored 10 of its faculty members for outstanding achievement in teaching, research and citizenship.

Stan L. Albrecht, dean of the College of Family, Home and Social Sciences, has been selected as the 1989 Distinguished Faculty Lecturer, announced President Jeffrey R. Holland. The award is the most important honor given by prominence. Albrecht will present his lecture Feb. 15.Albrecht has served as a dean since 1985. Much of his recent research deals with religion - studying such topics as who joins religions and who leads religious groups, along with other dimensions of religiosity.

Richard L. Anderson, professor of ancient scripture, was given the Phi Kappa Phi Award, presented annually by the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi to a faculty member for scholarly and creative achievements, for exemplifying integrity of character and for contributing to BYU through citizenship and service.

Winners of the Karl G. Maeser Distinguished Teaching Award are Elouise M. Bell, associate professor of English; S. Olani Durrant, associate dean of the College of Engineering and Technology; Richard H. Jackson, professor of geography; A. Woodruff Miller, professor of civil engineering; and Chantal P. Thompson, lecturer in French.

Recipients of the Karl G. Maeser Research and Creative Arts Awards are Dell K. Allen, professor of technology; David K. Hart, J. Fish Smith professor of Free Enterprise Studies; and Ronald A. Heiner, professor of economics.

Sponsored by the Karl G. Maeser Associates, the Maeser awards were established to honor top researchers and teachers. Committees of students, faculty members and alumni review nominations and select the award recipients.