The Georgian parliament Tuesday declared independence from the Soviet Union, the Tass news agency said.

Tass said the southern republic's Supreme Soviet, meeting in a special session, unanimously adopted a declaration "proclaiming state independence for Georgia."According to Tass, the declaration was based on the declaration of Georgia's independence of May 26, 1918, which granted Georgians living in the former Russian Empire the right of self-determination.