For the first time in the 45-year history of the Dale Rex Award there is a repeat winner. Ty Detmer, who won the award last year, was named again as this year's recipient.

Detmer, BYU's Heisman Trophy quarterback, will be honored at the annual Cougar Club Awards Banquet on Wednesday.The Dale Rex Memorial Trophy is presented annually by the BYU Cougar Club to the individual thought to have contributed the most to amateur athletics in the state of Utah.

The banquet begins at 7 p.m. at the BYU Wilkinson Center. There will be 12 other BYU athletes honored in addition to Detmer.

Detmer became the first player from BYU, the first player from the Western Athletic Conference and the first player from the Rocky Mountains to win the coveted Heisman Trophy.