The cream of the 1991 crop of south-central Utah high school scholars will be honored Thursday, April 4, at 7 p.m. at Juab High School in Nephi during the annual Sterling Scholars of Central Utah program.

A dozen winners and 24 runners-up will be announced, receiving cash awards and scholarships from 15 educational institutions of higher learning. More than 100 nominees from high schools in Wayne, Juab, Sanpete and Sevier counties have been selected from their respective high schools to compete for honors in 12 categories of competition.In addition to cash awards to be presented by the committee to the most outstanding 36 scholars, scholarships will be given by Brigham Young University, Utah State University, University of Utah, Weber State University, Southern Utah University, College of Eastern Utah, Dixie College, Snow College, Salt Lake Community College, Ricks College, Utah Valley Community College, Stevens Henagers College of Business and the Sevier Valley Applied Technology Center.

The support of local businesses and individuals have been important to the program in raising money for cash awards, according to organizers.

Committee members who have worked with the program at their respective high schools this year are Lorraine Wallace, Juab High at Nephi; Lewis Monsen, Millard High at Fillmore; Briane Keen, Delta High School; Gary Temple, North Sanpete High; and Lesley Treis, Wasatch Academy, both at Mt. Pleasant; Bert Christensen, Richfield High School; Kevin Eppich, North Sevier High at Salina; Craig Mathie, South Sevier High at Monroe; Rodney Cox, Manti High School; Lucy Ellet and Shirley Durfee, Wayne High at Bicknell; and Larry Henrie, Gunnison Valley High School.