Dr. Kent F. Richards, will serve as president of LDS Hospital's medical staff in 1991.

Richards accepted the gavel that accompanies the honor from Dr. Larry J. Wright.Named physicians of the year for the hospital were Dr. Stanley J. Altman, Dr. T. Ray Broadbent and Dr. Henry P. Plenk.

Altman is in private practice, but he also serves as chairman of the hospital's research committee, director of the cancer service and director of hematology/oncology services. He has also served as a member of the board of directors.

Broadbent was the youngest physician ever to serve as secretary and president of the American Society of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgeons. During his tenure on the executive committee of the International Confederation of Plastic Surgeons, Broadbent spent six weeks annually visiting leading plastic surgeons and surgery centers throughout the world. Many experts returned the visits to LDS Hospital, creating an international exchange of expertise.

Twenty years ago, Plenk's department won a $10,000 research grant that he used as seed money to fuel a number of research projects. As a result, LDS Hospital's Radiology Department has gained hundreds of thousands of research dollars used to fund hyperthermia research and other programs.

Six doctors, who retired from the active medical staff in 1990, were honored for their years of service. They are: Dr. Leland B. Cowan, who retired after 26 years in the surgery department; Dr. J. Monroe Jensen, who served 34 years in surgery; Dr. Talmage W. Nielsen, who served 35 years in surgery; Dr. C. Elliott Richards, who served 38 years in pediatrics; Dr. Stanley R. Child, who served 40 years in pediatrics; and Dr. Maurice J. Taylor, who served for 56 years in the medicine department.

Honored guests at a banquet held to mark the leadership change included the spouses of the hospital's 11 staff members involved in Operation Desert Storm.