Larry Johnson of UNLV and Dawn Staley of Virginia captured the 1991 Naismith Awards as college players of the year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced.

Johnson, a senior forward who averaged more than 23 points per game in leading UNLV to the NCAA Final Four, was selected in voting by the nation's major college coaches and a panel of writers and broadcasters.Staley, a junior guard, has averaged 17 points per game over her career at Virginia.

The Naismith men's coach of the year is Randy Ayers of Ohio State and the women's award went to Virginia's Debbie Ryan.