Three sophomores - Louisiana State center Shaquille O'Neal, Georgia Tech guard Kenny Anderson and Ohio State guard Jimmy Jackson - are among the 10 members of the 1990-91 John Wooden All-American college basketball team.

Joining the trio are UNLV forwards Larry Johnson and Stacey Augmon, Arkansas forward Todd Day, Duke forward Christian Laettner, Providence guard Eric Murdock, Syracuse forward Billy Owens and Michigan State guard Steve Smith, it was announced Wednesday.Johnson, Augmon, Murdock and Smith are seniors, while Day, Laettner and Owens are juniors.

Three of the players - Johnson, Augmon and Laettner - will be on the floor Saturday when unbeaten UNLV faces Duke in a semifinal game of the NCAA tournament in Indianapolis. Kansas meets North Carolina in the other semifinal, with the winners playing Monday night in the championship game.

Winner of the John Wooden Award as the player of the year will be announced by Wooden, who guided UCLA to 10 NCAA championships in a 12-year span ending in 1975, next Wednesday at the Los Angeles Athletic Club.

The top candidates for the award and their coaches will attend the news conference.

"Because of our unique voting procedure that allows voters to cast ballots through the Sweet 16 (of the NCAA tournament), a large surge could determine the winner this year," said Duke Llewellyn, executive director of the Wooden Award and vice president of the LAAC. "Larry Johnson and Shaquille O'Neal are running neck-and-neck in the voting."

More than 1,000 sportswriters and broadcasters take part in the voting.

The Wooden All-American team had been scheduled to be revealed on ESPN's "Up Close" sports show on Thursday. However, producers canceled the segment due to "production complications."

According to co-producers Bob Selzer and Roy Firestone, who also hosts the program, last-minute ESPN program commitments forced the cancellation.