Four University of Utah professors have been singled out for honors.

Professors David S. Chapman, L. Jackson Newell and Ronald O. Ragsdale have been named University Professors for the 1991-92 academic years.Chapman is a professor of geology and geophysics; Newell, a professor of educational administration; and Ragsdale, a professor of chemistry. They were selected for the special one-year, honorary rank from a field of 22 nominated by faculty peers and the Associated Students of the University of Utah. The Liberal Education Council named the three finalists.

Professor Allan A. (Tony) Ekdale has been named the 1991 recipient of the Calvin S. and Jeneal Hatch Prize in Teaching.

The Hatch prize is awarded annually to an outstanding faculty member of the University of Utah who has an unusual ability to motivate students, noteworthy expertise in a given field of study and other exemplary contributions to university education.

Ekdale, a professor of geology and geophysics, was the 1986-87 University Professor of Liberal Education.