E. Art Eichbauer, a Jordan District employee, has been selected School Psychologist of the Year by the Utah Association of School Psychologists. He was honored for his advocacy for students in Utah and his work to ensure their educational and mental needs are met.

Eichbauer has been a leader in developing and instructing parent education classes and programs, addressing truancy and drug/alcohol abuse. He holds leadership roles in professional and child advocacy groups.The award was presented during the annual association convention recently in the University of Utah Alumni House.

- Frances Hoopes has been elected president of the Women's State Legislative Council, a group that studies and discusses issues before the Utah Legislature.

Hoopes has been active in the council for nine years, serving as legislative study committee chairwoman, second and first vice president and on several committees.

She currently serves on the state board of the YWCA, where she served as president for two terms; is the current chairwoman of the board of the Friends of the University of Utah Libraries; and is the executive secretary of the LDS Church's Office of Volunteer Hostess-Guide Program.

In 1990, Hoopes was one of 15 recipients of the Emeritus Alumni of Honor Award, University of Utah. She served on Gov. Norm Bangerter's superconducting supercollider board as well.

Hoopes worked for 16 years in the U.'s career counseling program, serving as assistant director of the placement center.

Other new council officers are Marianne Stoddard, first vice president; Ruby Hammel, second vice president; Karen Thorn, third vice president; Darlene Galbraith, recording secretary; Nola Miller, corresponding secretary; Ruth Lundgren, treasurer; Marianne Bennett, historian; and Julia Reagan, Mary Stevens and Elizabeth Hindley, four-year directors.