When the sponsors of the Deseret News launched the Sterling Scholar program in 1962, other schools wanted to be a part of it. But the distance involved and the number of schools made it impossible.

Therefore, educators and civic officials in four other regional areas established their own programs while following the guidelines as those used along the Wasatch Front.In many areas, the directors remain the same each year while in some regions others take turns serving as director.

The following are "satellite" programs throughout the Beehive State, their director, participating high schools and the date of their awards ceremony:

Southeast Utah - Joan Gough, Moab, director; Carbon, East Carbon, Emery, Grand, Green River, San Juan, Whitehorse, Monticello and Monument Valley. Ceremony March 19.

Central Utah - Richard and Karen Chamberlain, Richfield, directors; Delta, Gunnison, Juab, Manti, Millard, North Sanpete, North Sevier, Richfield, South Sevier, Wasatch Academy and Wayne. Ceremony April 4.

Southwest Utah - Willard Bass, Cedar City, director; Beaver, Milford, Panguitch, Bryce Valley, Escalante, Kanab, Valley, Hurricane, Dixie, Enterprise, Pine View, Cedar City, Parowan and Fredonia. Ceremony April 4.

Northeast Utah - Deana Page, Kamas, director; South Summit, North Summit, Morgan, Park City, Wasatch, Uintah, Union, Altamont, Duchesne, Dugway, Grantsville, Wendover, Manila, Rich and Tabiona. Ceremony April 23.