The Provo/Orem Chamber of Commerce is seeking nominations for the annual Reed Smoot Citizenship Awards, recognizing outstanding service by people who live or work in Provo.

Steve Densley, chamber president, said this is the third year for the Smoot awards, which are a counterpart to Orem's Arthur V. Watkins Outstanding Citizen Awards. The chamber sponsors both programs.Judy Bell, chair of this year's Smoot Awards committee, said the deadline for submitting nominations is March 28. Bell said the number of awards will be increased to 10 this year to resemble the Watkins Awards.

Awards will include the following: Citizen of the Year, Student of the Year (an award will be given to a student from each of Provo's three high schools - Provo, Timpview and Independence), Educator of the Year, Outstanding Service Award, Outstanding Contribution to the Cultural Arts Award, Business of the Year, Businessman of the Year and Businesswoman of the Year.

Recipients will be honored at a banquet May 9 at 6:30 p.m. in the Memorial Lounge of the Wilkinson Center at Brigham Young University.

Nomination forms are available at the chamber offices. All nominations should be submitted to the Provo/Orem Chamber of Commerce, 777 S. State St., Orem, UT 84058.