Five University of Utah alumni will receive awards during the annual Founders Day dinner Feb. 28.

The association will give distinguished alumni awards to Alan C. Ashton, HBA '66, Ph.D. '70; Burtis R. Evans, ex '46; Ruth Hardy Funk, BS '38; and Kay R. Whitmore, BS 57.The 6:30 p.m. banquet and awards ceremony will be in the Olpin Union Ballroom. The cost is $15 per person.

Clifford C. Snyder, professor emeritus of surgery, will be named honorary alumnus.

Ashton is president and co-founder of WordPerfect Corp., Orem, which produces word-processing software for computers. The company evolved from an idea that Ashton had as a graduate student.

Evans is president of Evans, Evans and Evans Inc., a Salt Lake private medical practive specializing in cardiovascular and internal medicine. He is also team physician for the U. athletic department.

Vice chairwoman of the Utah State Board of Education, Funk is a former general president of the Young Women's organization of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Whitmore, chairman, president and chief executive officer of Eastman Kodak Co., Rochester, N.Y., has served in company leadership positions in Mexico, Latin America, Canada and Rochester.

Snyder, who is also associate dean of special projects at the U. School of Medicine, where he also holds the Clifford C. Snyder Endowed Professorship of Surgery, is responsible for 13 scientific innovations including the Klinge Bandage, a vaccine for poisonous snake bites and an artificial nerve.