Filmmakers Bruce Baillie, Charles Burnett and Trinh T. Minh-ha are this year's recipients of the American Film Institute Maya Deren Awards for independent film and video artists.

The awards, which include a $5,000 honorarium for each artist, were presented at a ceremony at the Angelika Film Center.Named after the avant-garde filmmaker, the Maya Deren Awards were created by AFI's board of trustees in 1985 to recognize the enormous contribution that independent film and video artists have made to American culture and to bring a wider audience to artists who are still largely unknown to the general public.

Baillie's films include, "To Parsifal," "Mass for the Dakota Sioux," "Quixote," "Castro Street" and "All My Life."

Burnett's feature films include, "Killer of Sheep," "My Brother's Wedding" and the current "To Sleep With Anger," starring Danny Glover.

Trinh T. Minh-ha films, "Reassemblage," "Naked Spaces - Living Is Round," and "Surname Viet Given Name Nam," question the traditions of the documentary form.