For the 14th time in the last 15 years Deseret News Sports Editor Lee Benson has received Utah's Sportswriter of the Year Award.

Dave Blackwell of KISN/Jazz Talk received the Sportscaster of the Year Award. It's the third time Blackwell has been so honored - he won in 1976 and 1987.Finalists for the sports writer award in addition to Benson were Kurt Kragthorpe and Lex Hemphill, both of the Salt Lake Tribune. Chris

Tunis of KSL Radio was a finalist with Blackwell for sportscaster honors.

Nationally, Chris Berman of ESPN won the sportscaster award while Peter Gammons of the Boston Globe won the sports writer honor.

The national and state winners will be honored by the National Sportswriters and Sportscasters Association at a banquet on April 29 in Salisbury, N.C.

Members of that organization vote to determine their respective state winners.