Buffalo Bills quarterback Jim Kelly was named the Quarterback Club of Washington, D.C.'s Professional Quarterback of the Year on Tuesday.

Kelly, who finished the season as the NFL's highest rated quarterback, led his team to a 15-4 record and its first ever Super Bowl appearance.The club will honor him 6 p.m. March 9 at the Washington Hilton and Towers.

In his fifth season with the Bills since arriving from the USFL, Kelly completed 273 of 428 passes for 3,680 yards and 29 touchdowns.

After suffering a knee injury in a Week 15 victory over the New York Giants, Kelly was sidelined for the remainder of the regular season. Buffalo followed by capturing its the AFC East title.

Kelly returned to lead the Bills to playoff victories over the Miami Dolphins and Los Angeles Raiders and a berth in Super Bowl XXV.

Heisman Trophy winner Ty Detmer of Brigham Young University was named the club's 1990 National Quarterback of the Year. The University of Virginia's Shawn Moore received the group's 1990 Local College Quarterback of the Year award.

Detmer, who broke 42 NCAA records this season, passed for 5,188 yards while leading BYU to a 10-3 record and its second consecutive WAC title and Sea World Holiday Bowl berth.

Moore passed for 2,262 yards and 21 touchdowns while rushing for 404 yards and an additional eight touchdowns. He finished the season as the nation's passing efficiency leader and became the first player in ACC history to be invited to the Heisman ceremony.

The winner of the 1990 National High School Quarterback of the Year award was Eric Zeier of Marietta, Ga.