Thirteen Utahns have been named to U.S. Bureau of Land Management district advisory councils to make recommendations about public lands in Utah.

"These are critical positions in Utah because two-thirds of our land is managed by the federal government. The recommendations these members offer to the BLM play a large part in determining public land policy," said Sen. Jake Garn, R-Utah.Those appointed to the Cedar City District Advisory Council by Interior Secretary Manuel Lujan Jr. are: Steven Steed, Bernald Al Tait and Brent Gardner.

Appointed to the Moab District council are: E.J. Mayhew and Time Berry. Appointed to the Richfield council are: Richfield Mayor Jay Anderson, Craig Condor and Lorraine Gregorson.

Appointed to the Salt Lake District council are: Ton Netelbeek, Gary Rose and Patrick Sackett. Appointed to the Vernal District council are Carl Stuart, Heather Campbell and Randy Beers.