Karen Shepherd\ District 1: Karen Shepherd, D-Salt Lake, Shepherd, former editor and publisher of the women's issues magazine Network, scored an easy victory over four other candidates in the District 1 race. The district had been represented by Democrat Frances Farley, who has retired.

Bob Steiner\ District 3: Bob Steiner, D-Salt Lake. Steiner, an attorney and businessman, upset Republican Richard J. Carling's bid for a fifth term.

Scott Newell Howell\ District 4: Scott Newell Howell, D-Salt Lake. Howell, an IBM manager, defeated Sen. Richard Tempest, R-Salt Lake, in his re-election bid by 12 percentage points.

Delpha A. Baird\ District 9: Delpha A. Baird, R-Holladay. A homemaker active in community affairs, Baird narrowly defeated Democrat John Dwan in the general election after scoring a surprise primary victory over incumbent Sen. Lorin Pace.

Millie M. Peterson\ District 12: Millie M. Peterson, D-West Valley City. Director of admissions at the University of Utah Medical School, Peterson dealt the GOP a blow by defeating longtime incumbent Bill Barton.

George Mantes\ District 13: George Mantes, R-Tooele. An auto dealer, Mantes won a four-way race for the seat vacated by Sen. Karl Swan.

Fresh Faces in the House

Fred Hunsaker\ District 4: Fred Hunsaker, R-Logan. A registered investment adviser and political newcomer, Hunsaker replaces Rep. Frank Prante, the first Democrat elected to the seat in 32 years. Prante chose not to seek re-election because of health reasons.

Byron F. Anderson\ District 11: Byron F. Anderson, D-Riverdale. Anderson, a sales manager, unseated first-term legislator Doug Holmes, who is Riverdale City Attorney.

V. DeMont Wiberg\ District 12: D-Roy. A retired railroad employee, Wiberg won the seat vacated by former Speaker of the House Nolan Karras, a Republican.\

Gale E. Voight\ District 14: Gale E. Voight, D-Syracuse. A union sheet metal worker, Voight upset three-term incumbent Scott Holt, a Syracuse attorney.

Vernon R. Borgeson\ District 15: Vernon R. Borgeson, D-Clearfield. Borgeson, a Hill Air Force Base retiree, defeated Don E. Bush in his first re-election bid.

Kevin S. Garn\ District 16: Kevin S. Garn, R-Layton. Garn, owner of a chain of music stores, edged Democrat Ron Holt for the seat vacated by retiring Rep. Frank Knowlton.

Ann Smedley\ District 18: Ann Smedley, R-Bountiful. A homemaker and the widow of the late Rep. Stanley Smedley, Smedley was appointed to fill her husband's term after his death Dec. 1.

Merrill F. Nelson\ District 21: Merrill F. Nelson, R-Grantsville. An attorney, Nelson defeated longtime Democrat legislator Beverly White. White was appointed to the Legislature in 1971 and had won re-election every two years since.

Ronald Greensides\ District 29: Ronald Greensides, D-Salt Lake. Greensides, vice president of Sugar House Van Lines, defeated former Rep. Samuel Taylor, who ran as an Independent, by a 2-1 margin to keep the seat in Democratic hands.

Phil Uipi\ District 33: Phil Uipi, R-Salt Lake. Uipi, who says he is the only rongan attorney in Utah, won election handily over Libertarian candidate Brian E. Swim.

Ray Short\ District 34: Ray Short, R-Salt Lake. A bricklayer and part owner of masonry and glass shops, Short narrowly edged Democrat Susan Way. Short was appointed to the House to fill the remainder of Larry Lunt's term.

Darrell L. Jorgensen\ District 40: Darrell L. Jorgensen, D-Midvale. A master electrician and instructor at Salt Lake Community College, Jorgensen ousted three-term Rep. Jed Wasden, R-Midvale.

Neal Hendrickson\ District 51: Neal Hendrickson,, D=West Valley City. Hendrickson, a school bus driver and operator of a swin school, defeated incumbent High D. Rush, who was elected as a Democrat byt defected to the Republican party.

Norman L. Nielson\ District 60: Norman L. Nielson, R-Orem, Nielson, president and chief executive officer of Sharon Community Educational and Recreational Association, who handily won over Democratic candidate Helen Weeks.

Jeff Alexander\ District 62: Jeff Alexander, R-Provo. a print shop owner, Alexander defeated Democrat Mike Marchant to take over a seat vacated by Jeril Wilson, R-Provo. Wilson did not seek re-election.

Jordan Tanner\ District 63: Jordan Tanner, R-Provo. An adjunct professor at Brigham Young University, Tanner defeated American Party candidate Sterling Allan to fill the seat vacated by retiring Rep. Janette Hales, R-Provo.

J. Brent Haymond\ District 65: J. Brent Haymond, R-Springville. Haymond, former Springville mayor, is president of Intex Corp., an independent power producer. He succeeds Rep. Don R. Strong.

Brad Johnson\ District 71: Brad Johnson, R-Aurora. A cattle rancher and owner of a custom feed lot, Johnson replaced retiring Rep. Tom Christensen, R-Richfield.