The Utah Symphony will return to Brigham Young University for a fourth season and inaugurate the university's 16-concert Performing Arts Series.

The 1988-89 season will begin Sept. 15 in the de Jong Concert Hall of the Harris Fine Arts Center under the baton of Utah Symphony conductor Joseph Silverstein. Works to be highlighted are "Don Juan" by Strauss; "The Fairy's Kiss" by Stravinsky; and Symphony No. 4 by Tchaikovsky.Other performances in the series include:

-Sept. 29, cellist Allison Eldredge.

-Oct. 14, Montreaux.

-Oct. 28, the opera "Carmen."

-Nov. 12, the Utah Symphony Chamber Orchestra.

-Nov. 18, the Sierra Wind Quintet.

-Nov. 19, The Romeros.

-Jan. 13, the Albert McNeil Jubilee Singers.

-Jan. 28, soprano Lucy Shelton.

-Feb. 9, the Utah Symphony with guest violinist Ralph Matson.

-Feb. 11, Nexus.

-Feb. 22, the New World Consort.

-March 16, the Utah Symphony with tenor Gary Bachlund.

-March 23, the New World String Quartet.

-March 30, Xiang-dong Fong, 1988 winner of the Gina Bachauer International Piano Competition.

-April 4, Les Ballets Trockadero de Monte Carlo will parody the traditional world of ballet.

All performances will be at 7:30 p.m. and tickets are available through the music ticket office, 3787444, C-358 HFAC, Provo, UT 84602.