In 1971, Auburn quarterback Pat Sullivan edged Cornell running back Ed Marinaro for the Heisman Trophy.

On Wednesday, both were winners.Sullivan, Marinaro and 1969 Heisman winner Steve Owens of Oklahoma were among 12 players and three coaches named to the college football Hall of Fame.

Also selected were receiver Fred Biletnikoff of Florida State, running back L. Parker Hall of Mississippi, defensive back Kenny Easley of UCLA, end Hub Bechtol of Texas and linemen Alex Karras of Iowa, Bobby Bell of Minnesota, George Savitsky of Pennsylvania, James Stillwagon of Ohio State and Wayne Meylan of Nebraska.

The three former coaches elected to the Hall were Dave Maurer of Wittenberg, Tommy Prothro of Oregon State and UCLA and Allyn McKeen of Memphis State and Mississippi State.

The new members will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at the National Football Foundation's awards winner Dec. 10 in New York. The foundation sponsors the Hall of Fame.

Owens, Sullivan and Savitsky attended Wednesday's announcement ceremony.

"I'm very honored and flattered," said Owens, a running back who played seven seasons with the Detroit Lions before a knee injury ended his football career. "I know it's difficult to get into the Hall of Fame because there have been so many great players in college football."

Sullivan, now the quarterback coach at Auburn, said he felt "very humbled" by the honor.

"I'm sure as time goes by, it will mean even more than it does today," he said.

Savitsky, who played on two NFL championship teams with the Philadelphia Eagles in 1948 and 1949, said getting elected to the Hall of Fame was "the cherry on top of my career. I'm elated to be in such great company."

Bell, Karras and Stillwagon won the Outland Trophy as college football's best lineman. Hall was the nation's leading scorer in 1938, while Marinaro and Owens led the country in rushing.

Maurer compiled a career record of 129-23-3 from 1969-83 and guided Wittenberg to seven Ohio Athletic Conference championships.

Prothro coached 10 seasons at Oregon State and six at UCLA before moving to the pros. His college record was 104-55-5 and two players he coached, Oregon State's Terry Baker and UCLA's Gary Beban, won the Heisman Trophy.

McKeen won more games at Mississippi State than any coach, going 65-19-3 from 1939-45.

To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, a player must be out of college 10 years. He also must have been a first-team pick on one of the major All-American teams during his college career. Coaches must be retired at least three years.

Voting is done by a 12-member committee of athletic directors, media representatives and conference and bowl officials.