North Sanpete High School has selected the 12 members of its graduating class who will represent the school in this year's Central Utah Sterling Scholar Program.

The 12 were chosen by the faculty on the basis of character, leadership, contributions and academic standing.They and the candidates from other central Utah high schools will be judged by committees from Utah colleges and universities on the basis of interviews and resumes. The winners will be introduced at an awards assembly at Juab County High School in Nephi on April 4.

The Sterling Scholar in each category will receive $200, the two runners-up each $100.

The North Sanpete High school candidates are: April Aagard, Mr. and Mrs. Kim Aagard, Moroni, music; Brian James Bailey, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Bailey, Moroni, visual arts; Matthew A. Bailey, Mrs. and Mrs. Allen Bailey, Fountain Green, general scholarship; Anna Lee Beck, Mr. and Mrs. Boyd Beck, Spring City, science; and Andrea Bench, Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Bench, Fairview, mathematics.

Also, Jason Crosland, Mr. and Mrs. David Crosland, Moroni, vocational arts; Andrew A. Erickson, Mr. and Mrs. Joel Erickson, Moroni, English and literature; Sharon Hansen, Mr. and Mrs. Venoy Hansen, Spring City, home economics; Jesse A. Jacobson, Mr. and Mrs. Warren Jacobson, Fountain Green, foreign language; Kristine Nielsen, Mr. and Mrs. Richard Nielsen, Moroni, business; Kamala Parry, Mr. and Mrs. Christopher Parry, Mt. Pleasant; speech and drama; Terry Syme, Mr. and Mrs. Courtney Syme, Spring City, social science.