Earl Campbell, John Hannah, Tex Schramm, Jan Stenerud and Stan Jones were elected Saturday as the 1991 inductees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The five inductees were selected from a group of seven finalists that had been pared Saturday morning from an earlier list of 15.Passed over were former Baltimore tight end John Mackey and Los Angeles Raiders owner Al Davis.

The selections were made by a 31-member selection committee, made up of media from all NFL cities.

Campbell was a running back for the Houston Oilers 1978-84 and the New Orleans Saints for the next two years before retiring.

He ranks as the 10th all-time rusher with 9,407 yards, a 4.3-yard average, and 74 touchdowns.

Hannah was widely recognized as the premier guard of pro football in his 13-year career with the New England Patriots beginning in 1973. The first-round draft choice from Alabama was named to nine Pro Bowls and missed only five of New England's 191 games during his career.

Schramm was a Dallas Cowboys executive for 29 seasons, most of them as club president. He joined the Cowboys at their inception in 1960 and helped the expansion club grow into "America's Team" and two-time Super Bowl champions.

Stenerud is the first fulltime kicker to make the Hall of Fame. The native Norwegian started his college career at Montana State as a ski jumper, but learned to kick for the football team and was signed by the Kansas City Chiefs in 1967.

Jones was a seniors selection. He is selected as a finalist by a committee of veteran members of the selection committee. Seniors must have completed 60 percent of their careers before 1966.

Jones played for Maryland in college followed by 13 seasons in the NFL, the first 12 with the Chicago Bears from 1954 to 1965 and the 1966 campaign with the Washington Redskins.