The state Committee of Consumer Services was set to honor six lawmakers and two local utilities Friday for their service to consumers.

The annual event was to be held at 11 a.m. in the Governor's Board Room in the Capitol.The "Best Consumer Achievement of 1990" honor was to go to the Utah Public Service Commission for its handling of cases regarding U.S. West Communication rates, Utah Gas Service Co. and Mountain Fuel Supply Co. rates.

Sen. Omar Bunnell, D-Price; Sen. Paul Fordham, D-Salt Lake City; Rep. Donald LeBaron, R-Highland; Rep. Dan Price, R-Vernal; Rep. Max Young, D-Murray; and Rep. Ted Lewis, D-Salt Lake were to receive awards for "Outstanding Legislative Leadership in Utility Consumer Affairs."

Awards were to be given to Utah Power & Light Co. and Mountain Fuel Supply for their programs helping financially troubled customers pay their utility bills.

Others to be given consumer advocacy recognition are: state Division of Public Utilities' telecommunications section; Rea Peterson, Division of Public Utilities complaints specialist; Mel Coombs, former Committee of Consumer Services employee; Kent Walgren, attorney for the committee; and Heather Dove and Mike Haslam with the Utah Telecommunications Access Program for their work in making telecommunications accessible to speech-impaired persons.