U.S. Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O'Connor will head a panel of distinguished judges who will hear final arguments in the 17th annual Brigham Young University Moot Court Competition Monday, Jan. 28.

The competition, which features two three-member teams of second-year law students arguing a hypothetical case before the panel, will begin at 3 p.m. in the Moot Court Room of the J. Reuben Clark Law School. The public is welcome, but seating is limited.Justice O'Connor will sit on the panel with judges from four appellate courts, including Judge Ruth Bader Ginsburg of the District of Columbia Circuit in Washington, D.C.; Judge Frank Altimari of the 2nd Circuit in New York; Judge Alvin Rubin of the 5th Circuit in Baton Rouge; and Judge Frank Easterbrook of the 7th Circuit in Chicago.

Law students participating in the competition include Jill Covington, Kelly Dunaway and John Pinkney for the petitioner; and David Cole, John Hyer and Andrew Williams for the respondent.

This year's topic concerns the constitutionality of electronic surveillance, particularly in a situation where an individual is under indictment for a crime, said Joe Long, a third-year law student and coordinator of the event.