Brigham Young University quarterback Ty Detmer Saturday night was named winner of the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, presented annually by the Fort Worth Club.

Detmer, the Heisman Trophy winner, will be recognized at a dinner Feb. 11. The award is named for one of the pioneers of the forward pass who quarterbacked Texas Christian and who won the Heisman in 1938.Previous winners of the award include Jim McMahon, Todd Blackledge, Doug Flutie, Vinny Testaverde, Troy Aikman and Andre Ware.