David Brinton pulled away from Steve Hegg on the final lap to win the men's individual pursuit championship and a spot on the U.S. Olympic cycling team. Brinton finished the final, which featured five lead changes, in 4:47.07, just 1.60 seconds ahead of Hegg, the 1984 Olympic gold medalist in the 4,000-meters.