Gary William Farnes, chief executive officer of Intermountain Health Care's three Salt Lake Valley hospitals, has been elected chairman of the board of the Utah Hospital Association.

Other officers are H. Gary Pehrson, IHC vice president, past-chairman; Mark Stoddard, Gunnison/Central Valley hospitals, chairman-elect; and Max Lauderdale, HCA St. Mark's Hospital, treasurer.Elected to the board were George Winn, Sanpete Valley Hospital, Mt. Pleasant; Stephen Walston, Mountain View Hospital, Payson; Merrill Gappmayer, Utah Valley Regional Medical Center, Provo; Daniel Wol-terman, Holy Cross Health Services of Utah; John Quinn, CPC Olympus View; and George Belsey, University of Utah Hospital.

Serving as president and chief executive officer is Rick Kinnersley, who succeeded Kenneth H. Rock, who retired. Kinnersley was UHA president from 1978 to 1986 and the left to be president of the health maintenance organization at the University of Utah Health Sciences Center.

He returned to the association in October 1989 to direct government relations programs.

Kinnersley announced that Bruce P. Murray has been promoted from planning and research vice president to executive vice president.