The Utah State Board of Education began its meeting Thursday without an official quorum, but by the time five board members had been officially sworn in, the board was legal again.

While they waited for Lt. Gov. Val Oveson to administer the oaths of office, the board conducted unofficial business.Two newly elected board members, Harold Jensen, Gunnison, of District 9, and Frances Hatch Merrill, Salt Lake County, were sworn in, succeeding Valerie Kelson and Darlene Hutchinson, respectively.

Re-sworn to "perform their duties with fidelity," were re-elected incumbents Neola Brown, Beaver, of District 1; John M.R. Covey, Bountiful, of District 3; and Don Christensen of South Salt Lake County, of District 7.

Even with the installation of five members the board starts the new year one member short. M. Richard Maxfield, who resigned at the end of 1990, will be replaced by a governon-appointed board member, probably by Jan. 31.