Four players eligible for induction for the first time - running backs Earl Campbell and John Riggins, offensive lineman John Hannah and placekicker Jan Stenerud - head the list of 15 finalists for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Jan. 26.

Eight other modern-era players - cornerback Lem Barney; offensive tackle Bob Brown; defensive ends Carl Eller, L.C. Greenwood and Jack Youngblood; tight end John Mackey; quarterback Ken Stabler; and wide receiver Lynn Swann - also are among the finalists.Also to be considered for induction are current Los Angeles Raiders managing general partner Al Davis, former Dallas Cowboys executive Tex Schramm and seniors candidate Stan Jones.

The finalists were picked by a mail vote of the Hall of Fame's selection committee from a preliminary group of 64 players, coaches and contributors. Jones was the recommended nominee of the seniors committee.

The inductees, as voted by the board of selectors, will be announced Jan. 26 in Tampa, site of the Super Bowl. At least four of the 15 candidates will be elected and as many as seven.

Enshrinement will take place on the front steps of the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton July 27.