Voters picked Utah County's 10 public servants in November, but it only became official Monday when 4th District Judge Ray M. Harding administered the oath of office to the newly elected administrators.

Very seldom do all county commissioners take office at the same time. But because of past Commissioner Brent Morris' resignation in June, all three county commissioners were sworn in Monday.Commissioner Gary Herbert has served in Morris' spot for the past six months and took the oath Monday to finish the last two years of Morris' term.

"I feel very comfortable with the makeup of county government and the elected officials we have. We have some good times ahead of us," Herbert said.

Commissioner Malcolm Beck took the oath for the second time while Commissioner Richard Johnson took the oath for the first time. Johnson replaces Sid Sandberg, who did not run for re-election.

"I hope to serve the public well and be a credit to our community," Johnson said.

"Utah County will continue to function as one of the most efficient counties in the state of Utah," Beck said.

Kay Bryson took the oath as the new county attorney after winning a heated contest over Democrat Robert Collins. He replaces Steve Killpack, who only served part-time for the last half of his term because of a salary dispute. Bryson said he will continue to be active in prosecuting and promised to be available to the public. He thanked those in law enforcement who helped him get elected.

"I appreciate having friends who care like that," Bryson said.

With the exception of Recorder Nina Reid, most of the other county officials who took office Monday ran unopposed in November's election. Reid, who defeated Louise Fucile, returns for her seventh term and is considered one of the most experienced recorders in the state.

Dave Bateman, who took over for Mack Holley in 1984 and was elected in 1986, begins his third term as sheriff. Clyde Naylor begins his fourth term as surveyor but will likely be appointed as the new public-works director, where he will devote most of his time. Even though he has served in the position since 1987 when Elwood Sundberg retired, Bruce Peacock begins his first full term as clerk/auditor. Ronald Smith is beginning his third term as assessor and Leonard Ellis is starting his second term as treasurer.

Newly elected Nebo School District board members were also sworn in Monday afternoon at the district offices. Bonnie Palmer was sworn in for her second term, and Richard Lamar Wilson was sworn in to begin his first term. Both Palmer and Wilson will serve for four years. James Dunn was also sworn in, but his term only will be for two years. Dunn is filling the seat of Johnson, who resigned with two years remaining to run for county commissioner. A new board president and vice president will be elected at Wednesday night's board meeting.

Alpine School District will administer the oath to Linda Campbell and J. Blake Evans during the board meeting at 6 p.m. Tuesday. Both Evans and Campbell are incumbents and ran unopposed. The board will also elect new officers at tonight's meeting.

Provo School District incumbents David Weight and Mossi White will be sworn in Tuesday night at 7:30 during the board meeting. Weight and White also ran unopposed. Board elections will be held after the swearing-in ceremony.