A very Happy New Year to every chess buff!

Garry Kasparov retained his world chess championship title after playing to a draw in the 22nd match of his series with challenger Anatoly Karpov.Kasparov, playing white in the match at the Palais des Congress Convention Center in Lyon, France, foiled a desperate attack by Karpov in the match and forced the challenger to accept a draw after 43 moves.

The result gave Kasparov 12 points in the 24-match series, ensuring that he will retain his title.

The victory marked the fourth consecutive time Kasparov, 27, has defeated Karpov for the title, and firmly established Kasparov as the top player of the current era.

The two players have two remaining matches to determine their share of the $3 million in prize money. If Kasparov wins another half a point, he will receive $1.7 million. If Karpov wins the final two matches to achieve a 12-12 score, the prize money will be divided evenly.

Kasparov had to withstand a determined assault from his old rival, who mounted an attack despite having the disadvantage of playing black.

Karpov gave up two pawns - potentially disastrous at this level - to gain a menacing grip on the champion's position.

Kasparov sacrificed a knight to take a third pawn and with this rough balance eventually managed to force the draw he needed by setting a series of checks in motion.

Speaking after the decisive game, Kasparov said he would be happy when the match was completely over.

"It was a good game, a well-played game - it was an important game. I was very nervous. I didn't know what to do - to play for a win or play for a draw? My life became much easier because I got the worse position and I definitely had to fight for a draw."

Kasparov had promised a devastating win before the contest, hoping to break the nerve of Karpov, who has never quit trying to get the title back. Karpov enjoyed a decade of total domination of the game after he was crowned in 1975 when Bobby Fischer forfeited the title without having played a single game as champion.

When Kasparov toppled Karpov in 1985, he became the youngest champion in the game's history. But Karpov would set records of his own, becoming the only ex-champion to requalify for title bouts, clawing back to challenge again in 1987 and 1990 after losing a rematch in 1986.

Their feud, both on and off the board, is the longest in chess, and only their age difference - Karpov at 39 is 12 years older and considered by some experts to be past his best years - seems likely to end their dispute.The next game, with Karpov having the advantage of white, is scheduled for Saturday.

The final positions were:

White: Kg1, Qe8, B5, F2, F5, G3, H3.

Black: Kh8, Qc5, Be5, G7, H6.

Drawn: Perpetual check.

- COMPUTERS TIE - The 21st annual North American Computer Chess Championship ended in a tie for first place between Deep Thought and Mephisto.

Each scored 4-1 in the five-round tournament at the New York Hilton Hotel.

Deep Thought was developed by Thomas Anantharamann, Peter Jensen, Murray Campbell, Feng-hsiun Hsu and Andreas Nowatzyk at Carnegie Mellon University and is now at IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center.

Mephisto was developed by Richard Lang of Henemger & Glaser in Munich, Germany.

Although the computers shared the $6,000 prize, Mephisto might claim a moral victory because it is a commercially available micro-computer and has nowhere near the calculating power of the world champion it tied with.

Deep Thought had won the North American championship in 1988 with HiTech, developed by Hans Berliner at Carnegie Mellon University. But considering that Deep Thought plays on even terms with human grandmasters, its performance against its fellow machine must be regarded as disappointing.

- CONGRATULATIONS to the solvers! David Moody, Dale Brimley, Julie Brimhall, Dan Brimhall, Douglas J. Duncan, Hal Knight, Ashley Graves, Gary Lee, Scott Mitchell, Kim Barney, Gordon Green, Joseph Pergler, Monroe Iversen, Neil Iversen, John Newman, Ann Neil, Russell O'Dell, Ramon Bassett, David D. Kirk, Tim Painter, Ryan Stucki, Ardean Watts, Peter Rogers, Scott Mitchell, Hal Harmon, Jack Crandall, Robert W. Lee, Edwin O. Smith, Ted Pathakis, Steven L. Staker, Brian Harrow, Eugene Wagstaff, William DeVroom, Robert W. Lee, Farrell Ostler, Alison Hermance, David Ferguson, Jim Reed, Wilburn West, Jim Turner, Thomas Hazen, Paul R. Lindeman, Michael Brough, Bob Copier, Aaron Brough, Russell Anderson, Ashley Ann Graves, George Stucki, Nathan Kennard, Daniel Barker, Kelvin Smullin, David Wilnes, Kay Lundstrom, Vali Kremer, Glennin Cloward, Cher Wood, David Wilhite, Curt Jeppson, David L. Evans, Stanley Hunt, Raeburn Kennard, Brent Tarry, Joseph Evans, William D. Price, Dave Sonntag, Dan Thompson, Richard Adams and Gordon Green.