The Whiting Foundation has named the 10 recipients of the 1990 Whiting Writers' Awards. The awards have been increased this year to $30,000 each.

The writers, given recognition for achievements and promise, are Emily Hiestand and D. Nurkse for poetry; Tony Kushner for plays; Yannick Murphy, Lawrence Naumoff, Mark Richard, Christopher Tilghman and Stephen Wright for fiction; and Harriet Ritvo and Amy Wilentz for non-fiction.Direct applications for Whiting awards, the largest program under private auspices, are not accepted. Candidates for the awards are proposed by nominators around the country, appointed by the foundation, who serve anonymously.