A special nominating committee has sent the names of five Utahns to President Bush, who will pick a new federal judge for Utah sometime next year.

U.S. Sens. Jake Garn and Orrin Hatch formed the commission, which has sent the names of Dee Benson, U.S. district attorney for Utah; Ronald M. Boyce, U.S. magistrate; Timothy R. Hanson, state district judge; Michael R. Murphy, state district judge; and David S. Young, state district judge; to the president.Bush's nominee must be confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

Hatch, who sits on the Senate Judiciary Committee, was instrumental in getting Utah included on the list of new federal judgeships this past Congress. When the new judge is confirmed, Utah will have five federal judges, plus the position of senior federal judge.