Mayor Robert J. Balls of Hyde Park was elected president of the Cache Mayors' Association for 1991 at its annual Christmas party and business meeting Dec. 8. He will take office on Jan. 1.

He succeeds Mayor John Stewart of River Heights, who as immediate past president will continue to serve as chairman of the association's hospital investigation committee. He succeeds Mayor Boyd Smith of Amalga as immediate past president.Succeeding Balls as vice president of the association is Mayor Derwin C. Merrill of Richmond. As vice president he is president-elect for 1992.

Mayor Ruth P. Maughan of Wellsville was elected secretary-treasurer, succeeding Mayor J. Kenneth Webb of Smithfield, who requested release from further association office due to his recent appointment as a member of the Logan LDS Temple presidency.

Seth Allen of Cove, recently elected county executive, was welcomed as a new member of the association, which is comprised of the 20 Cache Valley mayors from Paradise to Preston, and the Cache county executive representing the unincorporated areas.