Students and youth from Utah have won awards and honors in a variety of competitions.

Two Utah high school students have been chosen as delegates to the 1991 U.S. Senate Youth Program - where they will meet with senators, cabinet members and a Supreme Court Justice, and will receive a $2,000 college scholarship.John Beatty of Hurricane, Washington County, and Mickelle Martson of Wellington, Carbon County, were chosen for the program by Sens. Jake Garn and Orrin Hatch, both R-Utah.

Beatty is student body president of Hurricane High School, president of the debate team and a participant in the model United Nations program. He is an All-American Scholar in social science and an Eagle Scout. He is involved in football, speech, drama and track, and plays the piano and saxophone.

Martson is junior class president at Carbon High School. She is a member of the debate, drama, math and science clubs. She is active in community volunteer programs and received the Outstanding Woman/Geoscientist Award. She enjoys singing and skiing.

They will join 102 other high school students from around the nation in Washington from Feb. 2-9 for a week of symposiums on the federal government. The program is made possible by a grant from the William Randolph Hearst Foundation, which also awards the delegates a $2,000 scholarship.

Chosen as alternates to the 1991 program were Logan High School student Darin Freiss and Skyline High School student Brandon Morris.

Hillari Fryer, a Granger High School senior, was the first-prize winner in a statewide essay contest held in conjunction with the 20th anniversary of the founding of Common Cause, a citizens' lobbying organization working to make government more open and accountable.

Utah students were invited to submit essays on "What is the importance of my becoming personally involved in good government?"

Second place honors were shared by Benjamin Cook of Payson High School, and Maya Clauschee of Wasatch Academy in Mt. Pleasant, Sanpete County. All three winners received cash prizes and memberships in Common Cause.

"We hope this contest stimulated reflection and awareness among students of their duty as citizens to participate actively in our democratic form of government," said contest coordinator Cassie Dippo.

Emily A. Linde is only a kindergartener, but already she has had the thrill of seeing some of her art work in print.

Highlights for Children, a children's magazine with circulation of nearly 3 million, published one of Emily's drawings titled "Best Buddies." She is a student at Cottonwood Heights Elementary School and the daughter of Stephen and Darlyn Linde.

A University of Utah senior in music education has won the Sally Rich Burbidge Band Scholarship.

J. Michael Robertson, an Olympus High School graduate, received the $2,500 scholarship on the basis of musicianship, leadership, academic excellence and contribution to U. bands.

Robertson is the principal French horn player in the U. Wind Symphony and has been the mellophone section leader in the U. Marching Band. He plays principal horn for the University Symphony Orchestra.

Christy Anne Brown, 17, of Murray, has been named Utah State Youth of the Year by the National Boys and Girls Clubs of America for 1989-90.

The award recognized excellence in five categories: home and family, spiritual values, service to community, school, and participation in Boys and Girls Club work.

According to Bob Dunn, director of the club, which nominated her, "she has volunteered over 1,000 hours of service in all areas and excelled in all five categories."

She was also first runner-up at the regional competition and will receive a $1,000 scholarship.

In March, Brown received the Gold Congressional Award, presented by Rep. Wayne Owens, D-Utah. Owens made the award on behalf of Congress in recognition of her volunteer efforts in the community. She was the first young woman in Utah to receive the honor and was selected to be the spokesperson to the Congress in Washington, D.C., on behalf of the other 51 award recipients.

Brown, the daughter of Thomas R. and Lynda S. Brown, will use the scholarship to continue her studies at the University of Utah, where she is a freshman pre-med student.

Those with information for this column are invited to call JoAnn Jacobsen-Wells, Douglas D. Palmer, Chuck Gates or Bruce Hills at the Deseret News, 237-2100.