Half of this year's Gold Glove team was made up of first-time winners. Cal Ripken Jr., however, was not among them.

Despite setting seven major league fielding records for shortstops this season, Ripken did not get the award for being the slickest at his position. Instead, Ozzie Guillen was honored as the American League's best."I'd like to win one of those things, I'll be honest with you," Ripken said Tuesday after the awards were announced.

Guillen, an acrobat in action, handled 743 chances for the Chicago White Sox and made 17 errors, a .977 rate. He took part in 100 double plays and wound up winning his first Gold Glove.

Ripken, who rarely shows any emotion on the field, admitted he was disappointed. He has been the Most Valuable Player, the rookie of the year and been on a World Series winner, but does not have a Gold Glove after nine seasons.

Ozzie Smith, the shortstop who made backflips and backhanded flips a specialty for shortstops, won his 11th consecutive Gold Glove, an all-time record at the position. He began his streak with San Diego in 1980 and has won eight with St. Louis.

Barry Bonds, the National League MVP from Pittsburgh, and Chicago Cubs pitcher Greg Maddux were the first-time winners in the NL. Bonds joined his dad, Bobby, as the first father-son Gold Glove pair in the award's 34-year history.

Ryne Sandberg of the Cubs won his eighth award, matching the record for second basemen shared by Bill Mazeroski and Frank White.

Other newcomers in the AL were Oakland first baseman Mark McGwire, Toronto third baseman Kelly Gruber, outfielders Ken Griffey Jr. of Seattle and Ellis Burks of Boston, Red Sox pitcher Mike Boddicker and Cleveland catcher Sandy Alomar Jr., the league's rookie of the year.

Texas outfielder Gary Pettis won for the fifth time and Seattle second baseman Harold Reynolds got his third straight award.

San Diego's Tony Gwynn won his fifth Gold Glove and Pittsburgh's Andy Van Slyke got his third as they joined Bonds in the NL outfield. San Diego catcher Benito Santiago and Montreal third baseman Tim Wallach each won for the third time, and Expos first baseman Andres Galarraga got his second.