Ken Lensegrav and Ty Murray rode champion horses to victory in separate events Sunday night, highlighting the third round of the $2.3 million National Finals Rodeo at Thomas & Mack Center.

Lensegrav, the 1987 bareback riding rookie of the year, earned $10,220 for his ride on five-time bareback horse of the year Sippin Velvet, boosting his seasonal total to $52,993, seventh best in the world. Titles are awarded on a money-won basis. Chuck Logue took second, enabling him to reclaim the lead in the competition with $72,792 earned.Murray, the defending all-around champion, rode horse of the year Lonesome Me to a first-place tie in the saddle bronc competition. The victory enabled Murray to break the single-season record for earnings, set in 1979 by Lewis Feild of Elk Ridge, Utah. Murray now has earned $174,169 with seven rounds still to be contested. Robert Etbauer, the current leader, shared first-place saddle bronc riding honors with Murray.